Turn around and walk away

So I don’t see you cry.

The only way to be okay

Is to run away and hide.

 

Make sure you don’t come back

Or open up your door

Until you’ve found your mask

And tied it tightly as before.

 

Paint your heavy heart with laughter,

Don’t let the cracks show through;

What’s really inside couldn’t matter much

To anyone else but you.

 

Don’t let me see the things

That hurt you the most.

If you share your burden

You’ll only burden us both.

 

But wait.

 

Don’t you know that love

Ties two hearts together?

And that if one is bound,

The other, too, is fettered?

 

Don’t you see that love

Has its own price to pay?

If I am to share your joy

Then I must share your pain.

 

And if you build walls to protect me

From the brokenness of your life,

Perhaps my heart will not break,

But slowly, it will die.

Leave a comment